Sign of the times

The world of gastronomy is like a large mirror, reflecting significant societal issues and changes. Urbanisation, single society, travel, sustainability, veganism – current human experiences and aspirations influence the where, what and how of eating out – from the ambience to the culinary offering itself. With its diverse range of porcelain and other serving options, TAFELSTERN helps restaurateurs and hoteliers identify a contemporary response to these trends that will enhance their profile. Any gastronomic style can be achieved: whether the aim is surprising and stimulating, or relaxed and casual, or a more traditional, romantic setting.

SHARING FOOD - SHARING PLEASURE

Increasingly in modern society, friendship groups are taking the place of family and long-term relationship structures. What hasn’t changed is the desire for familiar closeness, love and security. And this has shifted over into the restaurant domain. Long tables and the revival of generous bowls and platters facilitate conviviality, social interaction and a shared delight in culinary treats.

CASUAL FINE DINING

All over the world, even at the most sophisticated venues, things have become much more laid back these days. Furniture, colour schemes and materials are no longer fully coordinated; instead items are mixed in a colourful manner to create a relaxed, intimate and highly individual, feel-good atmosphere. This is particularly appealing to a younger, urban clientele. And chefs are also opting for a more down-to-earth look when it comes to food styling. Dishes are arranged to avoid any impression of artifice or posturing. Everything should look as though it has landed in place by chance. The emphasis is on authentic cuisine and the choice of ingredients. In contrast to conventional fine dining, experimental cooking is eminently encouraged.

LET’S BOWL !

It’s hard to think of anything that has revolutionised the international food scene as much as the use of bowls. And we’re not just referring to the cute little bowls that are now firmly established as the new serving dishes in the sector. “Bowls” is also the generic term for the actual food presented in the bowl.

Often diners make their own selections, compiling the specific components depending on their own personal preference. The chef takes responsibility for creating an appetising composition – arranged according to texture, colour and harmonious flavour – served up in the comforting confines of a round porcelain. 

The content is just as important as its appearance. Particular attention is paid to the quality and origin of the ingredients. Health-conscious foodies want fresh, compatible ingredients that taste great and won’t automatically result in a food coma.

FREE FLOW

From black & white to multi-coloured, there are limitless possibilities in terms of colour and decorative patterns for porcelain. Influences from interior design and fashion also have an impact on the decorative design. Current trends include all-over decoration with striking effects to emphasise each restaurateur’s individual concept. Styles vary from handcrafted, rustic effects to refined, artistic flourishes in the high-end designs. A combination of different decorative styles is also popular with the Mix & Match table setting options.

Sign of the times

Die Welt der Gastronomie ist wie ein großer Spiegel, der die großen gesellschaftlichen Themen und Veränderungen reflektiert. Urbanisierung, Single-Society, Reisen, Nachhaltigkeit, Veganismus – die aktuellen menschlichen Erfahrungen und Sehnsüchte beeinflussen das Wie, Wo und Was wir außer Haus essen – vom Ambiente bis zum kulinarischen Angebot. Mit einer Vielfalt an Präsentationsformen aus Porzellan und weiteren spannenden Materialien unterstützt TAFELSTERN Gastronomen und Hoteliers, zeitgemäße Antworten auf diese Trends zu finden und ihr Profil zu schärfen. Alle gastronomischen Styles lassen sich realisieren: von überraschenden, aufregenden oder lässigen bis zu romantischen oder klassischen Inszenierungen.

SHARING FOOD - FREUDE TEILEN

In modernen Gesellschaften treten zunehmend Freundesgruppen an die Stelle von Familie und festen Partnerstrukturen. Aber die Sehnsucht nach familiärer Nähe und Nestwärme bleibt und verlagert sich ins Restaurant. Lange Tafeln und das Revival von großzügigen Schüsseln und Platten ermöglichen Geselligkeit, Austausch und geteilte Gaumenfreuden.

CASUAL FINE DINING

Überall auf der Welt geht es heute selbst an vielen gehobenen Adressen deutlich lockerer zu. Möbel, Farben und Materialien sind nicht mehr aus einem Guss, sondern werden bunt gemischt, so dass eine chillige, private und sehr persönlich geprägte Wohlfühlatmosphäre entsteht. Die spricht insbesondere ein jüngeres, urbanes Publikum an. Auch beim Anrichten setzen die Chefs auf einen unkomplizierten Look. Das Arrangement der Speisen meidet jeden Eindruck von künstlicher Pose. Alles soll eher wie zufällig arrangiert aussehen. Eine authentische Küche und ausgewählte Zutaten werden bevorzugt. Dabei sind Experimente am Herd, im Gegensatz zum klassischen Fine Dining, durchaus erlaubt.

LET’S BOWL !

Kaum etwas hat die internationale Speisekultur so revolutioniert wie Bowls. Der Name bezeichnet nicht nur die knuffigen, kleinen Schalen, die sich als neue Servierform von Speisen fest in der Szene etabliert haben. “Bowls” ist auch der Oberbegriff für die Gerichte, die in einer Bowl präsentiert werden.

Die Auswahl trifft dabei häufig der Gast selbst. Je nach persönlichen Vorlieben stellt er sich die einzelne Komponenten zusammen. Der Chef übernimmt das appetitliche Arrangement und bettet die Speisen – geordnet nach Textur, Farbe und geschmacklicher Harmonie – in die kuschelige Enge der runden Körper aus Porzellan.

Der Inhalt ist ebenso wichtig wie die Optik. Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf Qualität und Herkunft der Zutaten. Gesundheitsbewusste Genießer bevorzugen frische, gut verträgliche Lebensmittel, die schmecken und nicht automatisch ein Food-Koma verursachen.

FREE FLOW

Von Schwarz-Weiß bis Bunt bei Farben und Dekoren sind auf Porzellan keine Grenzen gesetzt. Dabei nehmen auch Trends aus dem Interiorbereich oder der Mode Einfluß auf die Gestaltung der Dekore. Aktuell im Trend sind vollflächige Dekorationen mit markanten Optiken, die das persönliche Konzept des Gastonomen unterstreichen. Hierbei reicht die Range von handwerklicher Anmutung und rustikalen Looks bis zu den feinen, künstlerischen Akzenten der High-End-Dekore. Gerne auch in der Kombination unterschiedlicher Dekorstile als Mix & Match am gedeckten Tisch.